Nepal Yoga Retreat & Trek to Poon Hill

JH
Joan Hyman
  • Email address verified
  • Facebook verified
7 reviews
Mar 21 - Apr 4, 2020
Group size: 9 - 15
Nepal Yoga Retreat & Trek to Poon Hill
Nepal

Joan Hyman
  • Email address verified
  • Facebook verified
7 reviews

$2680
Deposit: $500
Mar 21 - Apr 4, 2020
Group size: 9 - 15

About this trip

Yoga Retreat & Trek in Nepal 

with Joan Hyman and Kamala Yoga Nepal 



Would you like to deepen your yoga practice while discovering Nepal’s rich cultural heritage and stunning natural beauty? Join celebrated international yoga teacher Joan Hyman and award-winning Kamala Yoga Nepal for this trip of a lifetime! 


Joan Hyman, international yoga teacher with 20 years of teaching experience, and award-winning Kamala Yoga Nepal have partnered up to offer you a magical journey to Nepal. This yoga retreat and trek will introduce you to Nepal’s captivating cultures and the spectacular natural beauty of the Himalayas, and offer a balance of cultural exploration, physical challenge, and leisurely relaxation.


Kamala Yoga Nepal  is an award-winning company that specialize in yoga experiences in the Himalayas. Their combination of experience, know-how, and excellent service has established them as one of Nepal's best-loved yoga trekking providers. Kamala Yoga Nepal's two founders have worked with Joan to create this one-of-a-kind itinerary. Their dedicated staff are your local experts on the ground, allowing you to safely experience Nepal and its sights, cultures, landscapes, and mountains on this trip. 

We start out in bustling Kathmandu, where we visit some of the capital’s most captivating sites of cultural and spiritual significance. Our comfortable accommodation with beautiful rooftop infinity pool allows us to retreat from the city’s intensity and liveliness. Joan’s yoga classes are held next to the rooftop pool with the spectacular backdrop of Kathmandu’s skyline (weather permitting). On the third day, we take a short domestic flight to picturesque lakeside Pokhara, where we settle into a slower routine for a few days. Alongside singing bowl immersion and kirtan sessions, and delicious and healthy lakeside brunches, our days here include Joan’s inspired morning and evening yoga classes at the bright and air-conditioned Kamala Yoga Studio, just steps away from our comfortable accommodation. There is enough time to explore, read, and relax. A sunrise yoga excursion (weather permitting), and visit to the Peace Pagoda overlooking Pokhara and its hills and mountains allows us to connect with the spiritual aspect and natural beauty of our surroundings.

The next part of our journey sees us packing up, and heading into the mountains: With a team of experienced guides and porters, we begin our 5-day yoga trek past terraced slopes, paddy fields, and through rhododendron forests. Joan’s morning and evening classes accompany and optimally support us throughout the trek. Tea house accommodations and facilities are simple, participants share rooms (twin sharing). The authentic villages we experience along the trek, including the traditional Gurung village of Ghandruk, offer a taste of the culture and lifestyle of ethnic people like Gurungs and Magars. The destination and highest point of this trek is Poon Hill (3,210m), which we climb before sunrise to experience spectacular panoramic views of the snow capped mountains of the Himalayas. As our yoga trek concludes, we head to Pokhara to unwind in luxurious Pavilions nestled among the hills, where each guest is treated to a soothing post-trek massage. 

The following day, after an early morning yoga practice, we finally return to our base in Kathmandu. The afternoon is spent at your leisure, perhaps enjoying the rooftop infinity pool, or with the Kamala Yoga Nepal team, who will show you their favourite Thamel shops and hideaways. A memorable final dinner concludes our journey. 

About Joan's Classes

Joan Hyman’s grounded teaching style creates space for students to deepen their personal journey while aligning with teachings of true yogic traditions. Her students emerge from their practice with the rich, bright energy that yoga has to offer. Joan’s teachings come from an organic and intuitive place, as she draws upon the joyful study of Ashtanga and Iyengar yoga, Ayurveda (the science of life), and meditation.


Practicing with Joan is an experience; her instruction is intelligent and light, infused with a strong sense of insight that stems from years of focused study. She has the rare combination of a calm, sweet and loyal demeanor mixed with her wild adventurous spirit. Studying with Joan is both fun and freeing, while remaining safe and focused. With Joan, you’re not only exploring your yoga practice, but you might also explore the globe on one of her international retreats or teacher trainings.



FAQs 

Can I trek with you if I am vegetarian/vegan? Yes. A variety of local and international food options are available in most locations where we have lunch or stay overnight. A vegetarian diet is our standard during this trek, and vegan, gluten-free, and other similar preferences can usually be accommodated. 

In what ways might the yoga trek portion of this trip cause me to step outside of my comfort zone? You may be pushing your comfort zone physically at times, particularly during some of the steeper ascents and descents, but your guides are here to support you throughout, and breaks are taken anytime as needed.

The accommodation on the trek is basic, which is often an adjustment for our guests. Beds are very simple with thin foam mattresses. Two trekking guests will usually share a room, and bathroom facilities are shared with several people. In some locations, only squatting toilets are available. Depending on electricity/hot water supply, hot showers may or may not be available.

You will be living alongside and interacting with local Nepalese people and will have the opportunity to learn about their culture and customs, and the responsibility to be respectful.

Having said this, a yoga trek in Nepal is an experience for body, mind, and soul. The spectacular views, glimpses into a culture different from your own, immersion in a stunning landscape and fresh mountain air, a body and mind supported by yoga and meditation, and the feeling of achievement at the end of the trek make for a very rewarding trip.

How to I prepare my body and fitness level for the trek? First, doing regular cardiovascular exercise and increasing one’s capacity before the trek allows the body to better cope with higher altitudes. Depending on the trek difficulty and altitude, moderate to strenuous cardiovascular training 2-3 times per week is ideal.

Second, we recommend eating 2 pieces of raw garlic per day, starting 1,5 months before the trek. One way to do this is to mince/press it and add to salad dressing. Why? In the mountainous regions of Asia, garlic is considered an effective antidote for altitude sickness. The garlic compounds assist in relaxation of the vascular smooth muscles. They help in reducing vasoconstriction of the pulmonary blood vessels. Hence, breathing problems at higher altitudes become less severe by chewing garlic. Garlic helps thin the blood and enhances its flow.

Do I need travel insurance? Yes, travel insurance is compulsory. It is your responsibility to ensure adequate insurance for both yourself and your belongings before you travel to Nepal. The coverage must include high altitude helicopter rescue (check the altitude of your trek, e. g. if you are trekking to Annapurna Basecamp you need to have coverage up to 4300 meters above sea level), medical treatment cost and air ambulance. Kamala Yoga & Adventures Pvt. Ltd. cannot be held responsible or liable for loss, damage, or theft of personal luggage and belongings, nor can we be held liable for personal injury, accident or illness.

What should I bring? Bring several changes of yoga clothes, and comfortable clothes for warm weather (not too revealing). Bring cheap and comfortable sandals and/or trainers to walk around Kathmandu and Pokhara. You should bring toiletries and any medication you may need, since finding the same item in Nepal might be challenging. For the trek, the packing list is here. Please follow it carefully, and contact us if you have any questions: https://www.kamalayoganepal.com/yoga-treks-nepal/packing-list/. No need to bring trekking poles or sleeping bags, those are included in your package. 

Should I bring trekking gear from home, or can I buy or rent trekking equipment in Nepal? It is important that you have shoes that fit well, and you may want to purchase the key parts of your equipment in your home country. There are plenty of shops in Kathmandu and Pokhara which sell trekking equipment, and we can help with this, but the quality is generally a bit lower than in Western countries for instance. Some items such as down jackets can easily be rented in advance of the trek.

What is the best way for me to stay connected to the internet during the trip? Can I charge my phone and camera during my trek? Internet is generally available, but much slower than in many Western countries. On the trek, many of the teahouses have WiFi and most have electricity, however, this is not guaranteed and depends on many factors, including power supply. WiFi and phone/camera charging, where available, are included in your package.

If my family needs to reach me during the trek, is this possible? Do you have an emergency number I can give my family where they can call and reach me? We will provide our mobile contact number, which you may pass on to your families. The reality is that there isn’t mobile coverage everywhere in the mountains but it is now more than it used to. An excellent way of reaching us is also through the email address info@kamalayoganepal.com. Incoming emails are continuously monitored by several colleagues.


Terms & conditions 

a. Trekking risks

It is understood that by its nature, trekking entails certain risks including but not limited to the hazards of traveling across mountainous terrain, accident or illness in remote places without medical facilities, and forces of nature. By booking with us, you agree to assume all risks associated with the journey, so that no liability will be attached to the company, employees, agents or to any member of the tour group in respect to death, personal injury, illness or delay of travelers, or for any loss or damage to your property during the course of the trip.

b. Travel insurance

We strongly advise that you take out travel insurance which covers cancellation, accidents, health, emergency evacuation, and damage to baggage and personal effects. Please note that in Nepal, any costs for emergency evacuation must be paid in cash unless an insurance company has agreed to pay the costs on your behalf. It is important that any insurance policy issued to cover emergency evacuation for a trek does not exclude alpinism or mountaineering.

c. Liability

Joan Hyman or Kamala Yoga & Adventures Pvt. Ltd. are not liable for any cost arising due to circumstances outside of our control, such as landslides, road blockages, political disturbances, strikes, guest sickness, natural disasters, flight cancellations etc. It is understood that the routes, highlights and excursions as set out in the itinerary will be adhered to as far as possible, but that the company may make omissions or alterations to the itinerary, highlights, and excursions as required, depending on circumstances including but not limited to weather and accessibility of terrain









What’s included

  • Sightseeing in Kathmandu
  • All accommodation
  • All meals (except for three dinners in Pokhara -- guests are free to have dinner at their leisure) and soft drinks, tea, coffee during meals 
  • Daily yoga with Joan
  • Singing bowl immersion and kirtan sessions
  • Yoga Mats and props  
  • All necessary domestic transportation
  • Warm sleeping bag on the trek 
  • Trekking poles 
  • Healthy snacks on the trek
  • Filtered water on the trek   
  • WiFi and hot showers on the trek (where available) 
  • All necessary paperwork, conservation fees and trekking permits (ACAP, TIMS), and local taxes
  • First Aid supplies on the trek 
  • Massage at the Pavilions at the end of the trek  

Not included

  • International travel 
  • Personal travel and health insurance 
  • Personal travel equipment
  • Personal expenses (phone calls, laundry, souvenirs etc.)
  • Any expenses related to emergency evacuation
  • Any cost arising due to circumstances outside of our control such as natural disasters, strikes and political disturbances, guest sickness, etc.
  • Tips for local guides & porters

Available Packages

Shared Room with one other person
10 left

Shared bathroom and bedroom.  Own bed in a comfortable room. 


*  Price increase after November 30, 2019 to  2880 USD

$2680
Deposit: $500
Single Room Accommodation
8 left

Own bathroom and bedroom in Katmandu and Pokhara.  In the mountains, this will try to be accomodated but can not guarantee. 


*  Price increases after November 30, 2019 to 3180 USD

$2980
Deposit: $500
$2680
Deposit: $500

Shared Room with one other person

Itinerary

Yoga and Trek in Nepal
Nepal Retreat

Itinerary

Note: The itinerary and its timings are approximate. Adjustments may be made as necessary and/or appropriate. 

Day 1 (21 March) – Arrival in Kathmandu 

Morning & early afternoon

Guests will fly into Kathmandu's Tribhuvan International airport by early afternoon of 21 March at the latest. You will be picked up from the airport, and taken straight to Mulberry Hotel, which is an oasis of calm in the heart of Thamel, one of Kathmandu's liveliest districts. 

Mid-afternoon and Evening 

You might wish to unwind in your room, or refresh your senses with a dip in the rooftop infinity pool. There will be time to settle, then we meet for introductions, briefing, and a yoga class on the rooftop, with the stunning backdrop of the Kathmandu Skyline (weather permitting). 

We enjoy dinner together at the hotel’s restaurant, and retire to our rooms early, at about 9.00 pm, to get a good rest.

Overnight:

Mulberry Hotel****, Kathmandu 

Day 02 (22 March) - Sightseeing in Kathmandu Valley

Early morning

Yoga class on the rooftop with Joan (weather permitting), with Kathmandu’s early morning hustle and bustle happening down below. 

Morning 

We meet for breakfast, in the quiet terraced backyard of the hotel. Even if Mulberry’s backyard is secluded and serene, Kathmandu's sights and sounds are still present, permeating from the busy alleys nearby.

Daytime

We then climb aboard a comfortable air-conditioned van with our tour guide, and go exploring. We will see several important sights in Kathmandu and its surrounding areas, including Pashupatinath, one of Hinduism's most important temples. We stop for a delicious lunch. (This is mainly a sightseeing trip, there will be another shopping opportunity on the second-last day of the itinerary).

Early evening

Restorative yoga class on the rooftop with Joan (weather permitting).

Evening

We meet in the lobby, and walk to a nearby restaurant for a local set dinner.

Overnight

Mulberry Hotel****, Kathmandu 

Day 03 (23 March) - Kathmandu - Pokhara

Early morning and Morning 

Morning yoga class on the rooftop with Joan (weather permitting), followed by breakfast and check-out. (Any extra luggage or shopping can be left at the hotel until our return to Kathmandu a couple of weeks from now.) We take a van to the airport, where we will board a domestic flight to Pokhara.

Early afternoon 

We arrive in Pokhara, which will be our base for the next few days. We are picked up at the airport, and taken directly to Big Pillow Inn. The accommodations are more modest, but clean and comfortable, and in the heart of Pokhara's Lakeside district. You will have time to settle in, explore the surroundings on foot, and have a light lunch at your leasure. 

Mid-afternoon 

We gather at the Big Pillow Inn Lobby (in yoga attire), and together, take the short walk to the Kamala Yoga Nepal yoga studio (just 2 minutes from Big Pilllow Inn on foot), for our first yoga class with Joan.

Early evening

We return to the hotel for a quick rest and to freshen up. 

Evening 

We meet at the Big Pillow Inn lobby and walk to a nearby lakeside restaurant for dinner in a warm, convivial space, on a terrace overlooking the twinkling lights on the lake and nearby hills and mountains, in great company. 

Overnight

Big Pillow Inn***, Pokhara 

Day 04  (24 March) Retreat

Early morning 

You may have a cup of tea, or a light snack from the Big Pillow Inn breakfast menu, before arriving at the yoga studio. 

8:00-10:30 (approx.)

Morning yoga class with Joan at the Kamala Yoga Studio. 

11.00 (approx.)

We meet at the Big Pillow Inn lobby and walk together Jiva Café, which will now be our daily brunch spot (7 mins walk). Set in a serene, idyllic lakeside garden, Jiva offers up some of the best food in Pokhara. Each day, you may pick any two food items, a hot drink, and a smoothie from the menu. You might enjoy the company of the group, or settle down in a comfy chair or sunbed with a book. This is also a great place to book a massage (not included).  

3:30-5:30 pm (approx.)

Afternoon yoga class with Joan at the Kamala Yoga Studio, possibly with singing bowl sound immersion. 

6:30 pm (approx.)

We meet at the Big Pillow Inn lobby, and go for dinner -- this time, a beautiful organic farm with an excellent kitchen, in the heart of Pokhara. 

8:00 pm (approx.)

Return to hotel for early night due to early wake-up the next day. 

Overnight

Big Pillow Inn***, Pokhara  

Day 05 (25 March) Retreat

5:15 am (approx.)

We gather at the Big Pillow Inn Lobby, wearing our yoga gear, one or two warm layers, and our hiking boots. We climb into waiting jeeps and drive to a nearby hill, where we start our sunrise yoga hike. We reach the Peace Pagoda (Shanti Stupa) around sunrise, lay out our mats, and enjoy a sunrise yoga session with Joan (06.00-07.30 am). Following this, we will visit the Peace Pagoda and sit in stillness (30 minute silent meditation?). We enjoy a light picnic breakfast. The van will pick us up and take us back to Big Pillow Inn, where we may freshen up (arrival about 11.00 am). At 03.00 pm, we gather back at the yoga studio for afternoon practice with Joan. We end the day with a joyous Bhakti Yoga session (05.30-06.00 pm). Dinner at your leisure. 

06.00-07.30 (approx.)

Sunrise morning practice with Joan 

07.45-08.45  (approx.)

Visit to Peace Pagoda, with 30 minute silent meditation inside the Peace Pagoda. 

8:45-9:45 (approx.)

Light picnic breakfast 

10.00 (approx.)

Van pickup OR hike down to lake and boat ride back to Pokhara Lakeside 

11:00-12:00 (approx.)

Arrival at Big Pillow Inn. We are at leisure to rest, explore, have brunch at Jiva (included). 

3:30-5:30 pm (approx.)

Afternoon yoga class with Joan at the Kamala Yoga Studio (possibly with Singing bowl sound immersion) 

Evening  

Dinner at your leisure (not included). 

Overnight

Big Pillow Inn***, Pokhara  

Day 06 (26 March) Retreat  

Early morning

You may have a cup of tea, or a light snack from the Big Pillow Inn breakfast menu, before arriving at the yoga studio. 

8:00-10:30 (approx.)

Morning yoga class with Joan at the Kamala Yoga Studio. 

11:00 am (approx.)

We meet at the Big Pillow Inn lobby and walk together Jiva Café for our usual brunch. 

3:00-5:00 pm  (approx.)

Afternoon yoga class with Joan at the Kamala Yoga Studio (possibly with singing bowl sound immersion) 

6:00 pm (approx.)

Walk together to Big Pillow Inn lobby, where we will have the trekking briefing. Everyone will receive a trekking sack, into which to pack their belongings for the trek. If anyone still needs any gear, we have time to go rent/shop those items the next day.

Evening  

Dinner at your leisure (not included). 

Overnight

Big Pillow Inn***, Pokhara  

Day 07 (27 March) Day 0 of Poon Hill yoga trek

Early morning

You may have a cup of tea, or a light snack from the Big Pillow Inn breakfast menu, before arriving at the yoga studio. 

8:00-10:30 am (approx.)

Morning yoga class with Joan at the Kamala Yoga Studio. 

11:00 am (approx.)

We meet at the Big Pillow Inn lobby and walk to Jiva Café together for our usual brunch.

3:00-5:00 pm  (approx.)

Afternoon yoga class with Joan at the Kamala Yoga Studio (possibly with singing bowl sound immersion) 

6:00 pm (approx.)

We meet at Big Pillow Inn lobby and go for local dinner together. 

8:00 pm (approx.)

Kirtan session at the Kamala Yoga Studio 

9:00 pm (approx.)

We return to Big Pillow Inn for last packing and to retire early, so that we can start the trek tomorrow fresh and rested.  

Overnight

Big Pillow Inn***, Pokhara  

Day 08 (28 March) Day 1 of 6-day Poon Hill Yoga Trek 

8:15 am (approx.)

Bring your packed trekking sack down to the lobby, where we will pack them into backpacks for the porters. The rest of your luggage can also be dropped off at the Big Pillow Inn reception, they will safekeep it until our return.

8:30 am (approx.)

Breakfast at Big Pillow Inn 

9:15 am (approx.)

We climb into waiting jeeps and set off. A bumpy 1,5 hour jeep ride takes us to Nayapul, from where we start the trek. 

Daytime 

We start the trek at Nayapul, walking along the bank of the Modi Khola river. We pass through the village of Birethanti, and continue along the north bank of the Burungdi river. From there, the trail climbs steadily up the side of the valley to Hille. Today’s walk offers a short and relatively easy day, allowing us to become used to the experience of trekking in Nepal. Teahouse lunch and healthy snacks provided on the way.

Early evening 

Restorative yoga class with Joan (approx. 1 hour) 

Evening 

Dinner 

Overnight:

Simple Teahouse accommodation

Day 09 (29 March) Day 2 of 6-day Poon Hill Yoga Trek 

Early morning

Morning yoga class with Joan (approx. 1 hour) 

Morning

Breakfast

Daytime 

Leaving Hille, we start our day with a steep climb to Ulleri, a large Magar village at 2,070m. We take our time to tackle a steep stone stair climb, and then continue a more gentle and gradual climb towards Banthanti through fine forests of oak and rhododendron. Teahouse lunch and healthy snacks provided on the way.

Early evening 

Restorative yoga class with Joan (approx. 1 hour) 

Evening 

Dinner 

Overnight: 

Simple Teahouse accommodation

Day 10 (30 March) Day 3 of 6-day Poon Hill Yoga Trek 

Early morning

Morning yoga class with Joan (approx. 1 hour) 

Morning

Breakfast

Daytime 

The trail continues through a dense forest of rhododendron and oak. We take a break in Nangethanti, which provides a beautiful setting. After another hour of walking from, we reach Ghorepani, an interesting village with small shops and stalls selling local products and crafts. The village has two parts: upper part and the other a few hundred feet lower. We stop at the higher part of Ghorepani village that offers panoramic views of the surrounding mountains including Annapurna South and Nilgiri. Since Ghorepani lies quite a bit higher than our previous stop, the cooler temperature is noticeable. Teahouse lunch and healthy snacks provided on the way.

Early evening 

Restorative yoga class with Joan (approx. 1 hour) 

Evening 

Dinner 

Overnight: 

Simple Teahouse accommodation

Day 11 (31 March) Day 4 of 6-day Poon Hill Yoga Trek

4:00 am-Sunrise

We start our one hour hike to reach Poon Hill at an elevation of 3,210m. Weather permitting, we experience a spectacular sunrise over the high Himalayas, including the Annapurnas, Dhaulagiri and Fish Tail (Machhapuchhre) mountain ranges. 

Morning

After taking in the stunning views of Poon Hill, we return to Ghorepani for a hot breakfast. 

Daytime 

We continue our trek to either the Tadapani or Chuile villages, which also provide beautiful views of Annapurna South, Annapurna II, Fishtail and other mountains. Teahouse lunch and healthy snacks provided on the way.

Early evening 

Restorative yoga class with Joan (approx. 1 hour) 

Evening 

Dinner 

Overnight: 

Simple Teahouse accommodation

Day 12 (1 April) Day 5 of 6-day Poon Hill Yoga Trek

Early morning

Morning yoga class with Joan (approx. 1 hour) 

Morning

Breakfast

Daytime

Today’s trek takes us through beautiful green scenery, up to the tea house Little Paradise – a true secluded paradise among the mountainous scenery where you can relax and enjoy peace and quiet. This local family owned teahouse has a large and beautiful open garden area with flowers and trees, where chickens and friendly dogs roam free. They have rabbits and cows too and most vegetables are grown in their own organic garden. This beautiful property is located on a ridge between two mountains, offering great mountain views on one side and a stunning view over the valley on another side. Facilities are simple but the surroundings are superb. Teahouse lunch and healthy snacks provided on the way.

Afternoon 

Yoga class with Joan (approx. 2 hours) 

Evening 

Dinner 

Overnight: 

Simple Teahouse accommodation

Day 13 (2 April) Day 6 of 6-day Poon Hill yoga trek

Early morning

Tea and light snacks, followed by morning yoga class with Joan (approx. 1.5 hours) 

Morning

Breakfast

Daytime

From Little Paradise, we descend to Ghandruk in 3 hours, have some lunch in the village, admire the mountain views and continue one hour further and get a jeep to Pokhara from the lower part of Ghandruk village (1.5 hr drive). to Nayapul and a 1.5 hr drive to Pokhara. Teahouse lunch and healthy snacks provided on the way.

3:00 pm (approx.)

We arrive at the secluded, luxurious Pavilions Himalayas in the hills near Pokhara and rest. Each guest will be treated to a post-trek massage (slot on Day 13 afternoon or evening, or Day 14 morning to be assigned). A beautiful pool invites us to relax and recharge among the foothills of the Himalayas. 

7:00 pm (approx.)

Local set dinner in the magical surroundings of the Pavilions Himalayas. We celebrate our achievement and reminisce about all the memories made on this trip. 

Overnight:

Pavilions Himalayas*****, Pokhara

Day 14 (3 April) Pokhara - Kathmandu

8:00-9:00 am  (approx.)

Morning yoga class with Joan 

9:15 am (approx.)

Breakfast 

10:15 am (approx.)

Check-out 

10:30 am (approx.)

We leave for the airport and take our 25-minute flight back from Pokhara to Kathmandu.

12:30 pm (approx.)

Arrival at Kathmandu airport, and drive to Mulberry hotel

1:00-2:00 pm (approx.)

Check-in at Mulberry Hotel 

2:30-4:30 pm (approx.) 

Option to join the Kamala Yoga Nepal team for a tour of their favourite shops in thamel (souvenirs, singing bowls, and more). Other options include exploring on one's own, resting at the hotel, enjoying the infinity pool.

5:00-6.30 pm (approx.)

Restorative yoga class with Joan on the hotel’s rooftop (weather permitting).

7:00 pm (approx.)

Meet at hotel lobby and go for a local dinner. This is where we will round off the trip, including with music, dancing and singing. At 10.00 pm, we walk back to the hotel.

10.00 pm (approx.)

Walk back to hotel 

Overnight:

Mulberry Hotel****, Kathmandu 

Day 15 (4 April)

08.00-10.00 (approx.) 

Final morning yoga class with Joan on the hotel’s rooftop (weather permitting).

10.30-11.30 (approx.)

Breakfast 

12.00 noon 

Check-out from Mulberry hotel (if no other arrangements made). 

Your Organizer


JH
Joan Hyman
7 reviews
Joan Hyman's grounded teaching style seamlessly supports her students as they emerge from their practice with the rich and bright energy that yoga has to offer. Joan’s teachings come from an organic and intuitive place, as she draws upon the combination studies of Ashtanga and Iyengar yoga as well as Ayurveda, and meditation. An authentic modern day yogi, Joan's love and devotion show up in her practice and through her teachings. With over twenty years of experience leading retreats, trainings, and workshops worldwide ‐ fifteen of which as a distinguished YogaWorks senior teacher ‐ Joan recently brought her expertise to Wanderlust as the Director of Teacher Trainings. A leader in the Los Angeles yoga community, Joan’s openhearted approach to teaching yoga keeps both her inner spirit and her students continuously evolving.

Reviews

Better than anything I could have imagined. Amazing group of people, skillful teaching by Joan who brought so much positive energy to the group, the best vegeterian and vegan food I have ever had, and gentle meditations to close the day. I will be looking out for any future retreats!
This trip was certainly the experience of a lifetime. We visited a holy structure nearly every single day, hiked, did yoga, and ate well. We had two wonderful facilitators that kept us safe and the trip comfortable (physically and emotionally). The scenery is beautiful in Nepal, and the yoga class every morning really grounds you in the timezone and keeps your metabolism active.
By Sarah E Helt for Yoga Pilgrimage to Nepal on Apr 09, 2018
BF
Joan is fantastic and I loved everything about this retreat. I really resonate with her teaching style and energy. She's grounded, knowledgable and a true inspiration, following her heart and her purpose. The vision board creation and intention setting workshops were powerful ways to reflect and move into the new year with positive energy. The retreat center was lovely and the food/chef was amazing! I look forward to attending another retreat or teaching training with Joan in the future. Thank you and Namaste :)
A yoga retreat to welcome a new year was just perfect! We nourished our body, mind and spirit with twice daily yoga, some meditation, and amazing food. Joan has quite a following and attracts some serious yogis but her practice is accessible to most everyone. As a very newbie I especially appreciated Joan’s approach. She builds to each advanced pose so you are sure to get the important fundamentals right. You stop where you are comfortable and learn from others as they move on. Thank you, Joan, for an incr dibble experience. Safe travels this year!
PL
The setting was peaceful, the people warm, the food super, and the lessons (yoga, intentions, meditation) wonderful. As novice, I felt very comfortable with the more advanced members of the group. It has inspired me to practice more. Thank you Joan Hyman. I look forward to participating in future retreats.
Show More Reviews